32Pollution – Compliance with Canadian Regulations

The attention of shipmasters is drawn to the –

Vessel Pollution and Dangerous Chemicals Regulations,

Ballast Water Control and Management Regulations,

Arctic Shipping Pollution Prevention Regulations,

Response Organizations and Oil Handling Facilities Regulations,

Environmental Response Arrangements Regulations


Canada is responsible for the Vessel Pollution and Dangerous Chemicals Regulations and Masters of vessels should note that these regulations contain specific provisions for oil, noxious liquid substances and dangerous chemicals, pollutant substances, sewage, garbage, air, and anti-fouling systems. The regulations incorporate the provisions of MARPOL and the Anti-fouling Systems Convention. Canada has acceded to both these conventions, including all Annexes of MARPOL. However, stricter discharge provisions apply in internal and inland waters. Canada is committed to protecting its marine wildlife and ocean environment and will not tolerate the illegal discharge of oil, oily substances or other toxic substances in Canadian waters.

The North American Emission Control Area is in force and applies south of 60°N in waters under Canadian jurisdiction, including the 200-mile Exclusive Economic Zone. This measure also applies in waters of French territories of St Pierre and Miquelon and the United States. As of January 1, 2015, all vessels in North American Emission Control Area must use fuel with a sulphur content of no more than 0.10%.

All crew members must be made aware of the consequences of illegally releasing oil or other toxic substances into Canadian waters, including the devastating effects on marine wildlife, the possibility of stiff fines and imprisonment, and the publication of the names of vessels and individual crew members that have been successfully prosecuted.

Vessels entering Canadian waters, including the 200-mile Exclusive Economic Zone, are closely monitored by aerial surveillance, patrol vessels, satellite imaging and port state control inspections.

Vessels suspected of illegally releasing oil, or other toxic substances into the marine environment, can be detained for investigation and can be prosecuted under Canadian laws. Owners, operators or individual crew members who are found guilty under Canadian laws can be fined up to $1 million.

Any discharge, or the danger of a discharge, of any pollutant must be reported by the quickest means available and in the manner prescribed in the Guidelines for Reporting Incidents Involving Dangerous Goods, Harmful Substances and/or Marine Pollutants (TP 9834) or International Maritime Organization Resolution A.851(20) as amended. If a vessel has been unable to obtain compliant fuel for North American Emission Control Area, it must report to in accordance with procedures set out the Ship Safety Bulletin 04/2013, Reporting when compliant fuel is unavailable.

Masters of oil tankers should note that applicable tankers must carry either a Polar Ship Certificate or an International Oil Pollution Prevention Certificate as prescribed by the Regulations and a Certificate of Insurance or Other Financial Responsibility issued in accordance with the provisions of the International Convention of Civil Liability for Oil Pollution Damage, 1992.

Masters of laden oil and chemical tankers, operating in ice control zones of Eastern Canada, should refer to the Transport Canada publication Joint Industry - Government Guidelines for the Control of Oil Tankers and Bulk Chemical Carriers in Ice Control Zones of Eastern Canada (TP 15163) for guidance in the operation of their vessels while in ice control zones. A copy of the guidelines should be carried on board all applicable vessels.


Masters of vessels entering Canada’s exclusive economic zone from seaward are advised to consult the Ballast Water Control and Management Regulations (the Regulations) and A Guide to Canada’s Ballast Water Control and Management Regulations (TP 13617 – Edition 2019) to ensure compliance. With the exception of vessels specifically exempted from the provision of the Regulations, all vessels are expected to exchange or treat their ballast prior to ballast discharge in waters under Canadian jurisdiction. This requirement also extends to vessels carrying only residual quantities of ballast water, if local water is to be added to the tanks and discharged before leaving waters under Canadian jurisdiction. The Master of a vessel, whether or not they are carrying ballast onboard, must ensure the vessel complies with the regulations and submits a completed ballast water reporting form as outlined in TP 13617 – Edition 2019. In cases where Transport Canada determines that a vessel did not comply with the Regulations, the vessel may be subject to inspection and detention in accordance with subsection 222(1) of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001.

Transport Canada is the lead agency responsible for Canada's Marine Oil Spill Preparedness and Response Regime. The regime was established in 1995 to enable industry to respond to its own oil spills of up to 10,000 tonnes within the prescribed time standards and operating environments, for Canadian waters south of 60 degrees north latitude. The regime is built upon a partnership between government and industry. It sets rigorous standards for response organizations and oil handling facilities, and establishes the requirements for national preparedness capacity. Please refer to the end of this Notice for Transport Canada contact information.

The Canadian Coast Guard is the lead federal agency responsible for ensuring an appropriate response to all ship-source spills and will place the onus of response on the polluter. The Canadian Coast Guard monitors the overall response to ensure that it is effective, timely, and appropriate to the incident. As the Canadian Coast Guard will be notified of all ship-source spill occurrences, polluters are encouraged to discuss their intentions with the appropriate Canadian Coast Guard representative. Please refer to the end of this Notice for regional Canadian Coast Guard contact information.

Pursuant to Part 8 of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001, all oil tankers of 150 or more tonnes gross tonnage, all other vessels of 400 or more tonnes gross tonnage that carry oil as fuel or as cargo and groups of vessels that are towed or pushed, are of 150 gross tonnage or more and carry oil as cargo in Canadian waters south of the 60th parallel of latitude are required to enter into an arrangement with a Transport Canada certified response organization.

This does not apply to a non-Canadian vessel that is only transiting the territorial sea of Canada or the exclusive economic zone of Canada, and is not engaged in the loading or unloading of oil during transit.

The following is a list of Transport Canada certified response organizations and their Geographic Areas of Responsibility:

Western Canada Marine Response Corporation’s (WCMRC) geographic area of response covers the waters bordering the Province of British Columbia (including the shorelines associated with such waters) and extending throughout the Exclusive Economic Zone (200 nautical miles offshore) and including, but not limited to, the inland waters of the Province.

Eastern Canada Response Corporation (ECRC)’s geographic area of response covers all the Canadian waters south of 60°N latitude in the provinces of Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, excluding the waters in the primary areas of response associated with the designated ports of Saint John, N.B. and Point Tupper, N.S.

Point Tupper Marine Services Ltd. (PTMS)’s geographic area of response comprises all the waters between an arc having a 50 nautical mile radius about Bear Head light, 45°33’ North, 61°17’ West, but not extending north of the Canso Causeway into St. George’s Bay and the contiguous land mass and, for greater certainty, not to include the waters of the Bras d’Or Lakes, St. Andrews Channel, St. Patrick’s Channel, Great Bras d’Or and other waters internal to Cape Breton Island.

Atlantic Emergency Response Team (ALERT) Inc.’s geographic area of response covers all the Canadian waters between the western boundary consisting of an arc having a 50 nautical mile radius about the point 45°08’03”N, 66°17’12”W, and the eastern boundary consisting of an arc having a 50 nautical mile radius about a point, centered on Cape Spencer Light.

Please refer to the end of this Notice for Response Organizations contact information.


Canada has signalled a willingness to address wrecked and/or abandoned vessels as a source threat with its accession to the Nairobi International Convention on the Removal of Wrecks, 2007, a framework which outlines the rights and obligations of vessel owners and coastal states with respect to wrecks resulting from a maritime casualty within a state’s Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ). The Wrecked, Abandoned or Hazardous Vessels Act (WAHVA), Canada’s instrument to adhere to this convention, came into force on July 30, 2019. It holds owners responsible for their vessels by prohibiting abandonment and by enforcing the principle that owners are liable for the hazards and other issues that vessels and wrecks might pose. WAHVA also provides Transport Canada with authority to address all issues of vessel abandonment and dilapidation, and the Canadian Coast Guard with authority to address any vessel-related hazard, be it environmental, safety-related, or socio-economic in nature. Both organizations have powers to enforce compliance with directions they might issue to vessel owners under WAHVA.


CANADIAN COAST GUARD
(Superintendent, Environmental Response)

Western Region
250-480-2722

Central and Arctic Region
519-383-1954
418-648-4557

Atlantic Region
709-772-6338

RESPONSE ORGANIZATIONS

Western Canada Marine Response Corporation
(WCMRC)
604-294-6001
604-294-9116 (24 hours)


Eastern Canada Response Corporation Ltd.
(ECRC)
613-230-7369

Quebec Region
418-692-8989

Atlantic Region
902-461-9170


Atlantic Emergency Response Team (ALERT) Inc.
506-202-4499


Point Tupper Marine Services Ltd. (PTMS)
902-625-1711


TRANSPORT CANADA

Marine Safety and Security, Navigation Safety,
and Environmental Programs

330 Sparks Street, 10th floor, K1A 0N5
613-991-3135



Authority: Canadian Coast Guard

Transport Canada

32 Pollution – Conformité aux règlements canadiens

Nous attirons l'attention des capitaines sur ce qui suit:

Le Règlement sur la pollution par les bâtiments et sur les produits chimiques dangereux,

Le Règlement sur le contrôle et la gestion de l'eau de ballast,

Le Règlement sur la prévention de la pollution des eaux arctiques par les navires,

Le Règlement sur les organismes d'intervention et les installations de manutention d'hydrocarbures,

Le Règlement sur les ententes en matière d'intervention environnementale

Le Canada est responsable du Règlement sur la pollution par les bâtiments et sur les produits chimiques dangereux, et les capitaines devraient prendre note que ce Règlement renferme des dispositions précises sur les hydrocarbures, les substances liquides nocives et les produits chimiques dangereux, les substances polluantes, les eaux usées, les ordures, l'atmosphère et les systèmes antisalissure. Le Règlement incorpore les dispositions de la Convention MARPOL et de la Convention visant les systèmes antisalissure. Le Canada a adhéré à ces deux conventions, y compris toutes les annexes de la Convention MARPOL. Cependant, des dispositions sur les rejets plus rigoureuses s'appliquent aux eaux intérieures. Le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à protéger sa faune marine et son milieu océanique, et ne tolérera aucun rejet illégal d'hydrocarbures, de substances huileuses ou d'autres substances toxiques dans les eaux canadiennes.

La zone de contrôle des émissions de l'Amérique du Nord est en place et vise les eaux de compétence canadienne situées au sud du 60e parallèle de latitude nord, y compris les eaux de la zone économique exclusive canadienne de 200 milles. Cette mesure s'applique également aux eaux du territoire français Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon et des États-Unis. À compter du 1er janvier 2015, tous les bâtiments qui naviguent dans la zone de contrôle des émissions de l'Amérique du Nord doivent utiliser un carburant ayant une teneur en souffre d'au plus 0,10 %.

Tous les membres d'équipage doivent être mis au courant des conséquences d'un rejet illégal d'hydrocarbures ou d'autres substances toxiques dans les eaux canadiennes, y compris les effets dévastateurs sur la faune marine, la possibilité d'être condamnés à une amende sévère et à une peine d'emprisonnement, et la publication du nom des navires et des membres d'équipage qui ont été poursuivis avec succès.

Les navires qui entrent dans les eaux canadiennes, y compris la zone économique exclusive de 200 milles, font l'objet d'une surveillance étroite par des aéronefs de surveillance, des patrouilleurs ainsi qu'au moyen d'images transmises par satellite et d'inspections de contrôle par l'État du port.

Les bâtiments soupçonnés d'avoir rejeter des hydrocarbures ou d'autres substances toxiques illégalement en milieu marin peuvent être détenus en vue d'une enquête et être poursuivis en vertu des lois canadiennes. Les propriétaires, les exploitants et les membres d'équipage déclarés coupables en vertu des lois canadiennes sont passibles d'une amende pouvant atteindre un million de dollars.

Tout rejet, ou risque de rejet de n'importe quel polluant doit être signalé par le biais du moyen le plus rapide disponible et de la façon prescrite par le document Lignes directrices concernant la notification des incidents mettant en cause des marchandises dangereuses, des substances nuisibles et/ou des polluants marins (TP 9834), ou dans la résolution A.851(20) de l'Organisation maritime internationale, tel que modifié. Dans l'éventualité où un bâtiment n'aurait pas pu obtenir le carburant conforme pour naviguer dans la zone de contrôle des émissions de l'Amérique du Nord, il doit signaler sa situation conformément aux procédures énoncées dans le bulletin de la sécurité des navires 04/2013 (Rapports à présenter lorsque le carburant conforme n'est pas disponible).

Les capitaines de pétrolier devraient noter que les navires citernes visés doivent avoir à leur bord un certificat canadien de prévention de la pollution par les hydrocarbures ou un certificat international de prévention de la pollution par les hydrocarbures, comme le prescrit la règlementation, ainsi qu'un certificat d'assurance ou tout autre document concernant la responsabilité financière émis conformément aux dispositions de la Convention internationale sur la responsabilité civile pour les dommages dus à la pollution par les hydrocarbures, 1992.

Les capitaines de navire qui transportent des produits chimiques ou des hydrocarbures dans les zones de contrôle des glaces de l'Est du Canada doivent consulter la publication de Transports Canada intituléeLignes directrices conjointes de l'industrie et du gouvernement concernant le contrôle des pétroliers et des transporteurs de produits chimiques en vrac dans les zones de contrôle des glaces de l'est du Canada (TP 15163) pour obtenir des directives quant à la façon d'exploiter leur bâtiment dans les zones de contrôle des glaces. Un exemplaire de ces lignes directrices doit se trouver à bord de tous les navires visés.

Les capitaines de bâtiments qui entrent dans la zone économique exclusive du Canada depuis la mer sont avisés de consulter le Règlement sur le contrôle et la gestion de l'eau de ballast(le Règlement) et la publication  (TP 13617) intitulée Guide d'application du Règlement sur le contrôle et la gestion de l'eau de ballast du Canada  pour s'assurer qu'ils sont conformes. À l'exception des bâtiments exemptés de la disposition de la règlementation, tous les bâtiments doivent échanger ou traiter leurs eaux de ballast avant de les rejeter dans les eaux de compétence canadienne. Cette exigence s'applique aussi aux bâtiments qui transportent seulement des quantités résiduelles d'eau de ballast si de l'eau locale doit être ajoutée dans les réservoirs et déchargée avant de quitter les eaux de compétence canadienne. Le capitaine d'un bâtiment, qu'il transporte ou non des ballasts à bord, doit s'assurer que son bâtiment est conforme à la règlementation et présenter un formulaire de rapport sur l'eau de ballast dûment rempli, comme le prévoit la TP 13617. Dans les cas où Transports Canada détermine qu'un bâtiment ne respecte pas la règlementation, celui-ci pourrait être soumis à une inspection et à une détention conformément au paragraphe 222(1) de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada.

Transports Canada est le principal organisme responsable du Régime canadien de préparation et d'intervention en cas de déversement d'hydrocarbures en milieu marin. Le régime a été créé en 1995 afin de permettre à l'industrie d'intervenir face à ses propres déversements d'hydrocarbures jusqu'à un maximum de 10 000 tonnes dans le respect des délais prescrits et des conditions d'exploitation, dans les eaux canadiennes au sud du 60e parallèle de latitude Nord. Le régime repose sur un partenariat entre le gouvernement et l'industrie. Il impose des normes rigoureuses aux organismes d'intervention et aux installations de manutention d'hydrocarbures, et il établit les exigences au chapitre de la capacité nationale en matière de préparation. Veuillez consulter la fin de cet avis pour connaître le nom de la personne-ressource à Transports Canada.

La Garde côtière canadienne est le principal organisme fédéral chargé d'assurer une intervention adéquate pour tout déversement provenant de navires et tiendra le pollueur responsable de cette intervention. Elle surveille l'intervention globale afin de s'assurer qu'elle est efficace, rapide et adaptée à l'incident. Puisque la Garde côtière canadienne est informée de tout déversement provenant de navires, les pollueurs sont encouragés à discuter de leurs intentions avec le représentant concerné de la Garde côtière canadienne. Veuillez consulter la fin de cet avis pour connaître le nom de la personne-ressource à la Garde côtière canadienne.

En vertu de la partie 8 de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada, tous les pétroliers d'une jauge brute égale ou supérieure à 150 tonnes, tous les autres bâtiments d'une jauge brute égale ou supérieure à 400 tonnes ayant à leur bord des hydrocarbures (cargaison ou combustible) et les groupes de bâtiments qui sont poussés ou remorqués, qui ont une jauge brute égale ou supérieure à 150 tonnes et qui transportent des hydrocarbures en tant que cargaison dans les eaux canadiennes au sud du 60e parallèle sont tenus de conclure une entente avec un organisme d'intervention certifié par Transport Canada.

Cette exigence ne s'applique pas aux bâtiments non canadiens qui ne font que passer dans la mer territoriale du Canada et qui ne se livrent pas à des activités de chargement ou de déchargement d'hydrocarbures pendant leur passage.

Liste des organismes d'intervention certifiés par Transports Canada et leurs zones géographiques de responsabilités :

La zone géographique d'intervention de la Western Canada Marine Response Corporation(WCMRC) couvre les eaux longeant la Colombie-Britannique (y compris leurs rivages) ainsi celles qui s'entendent dans l'ensemble de la zone économique exclusive (200 milles marins au large des côtes), y compris, sans toutefois s'y limiter, les eaux intérieures de la province.

La zone géographique d'intervention de la Société d'intervention maritime, Est du Canada Ltée. (SIMEC) couvre toutes les eaux canadiennes situées au sud du 60e parallèle de latitude Nord dans les provinces de Terre-Neuve, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, de la Nouvelle Écosse, du Nouveau Brunswick, du Québec, de l'Ontario, du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan et de l'Alberta, à l'exception des eaux situées dans les zones primaires d'intervention associées aux ports désignés de Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et de Point Tupper, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

La zone géographique d'intervention de Point Tupper Marine Services Ltd. (PTMS) comprend toutes les eaux situées entre un arc ayant un rayon de 50 milles marins et centré sur le phare de Bear Head (45º33'N 61º17'W), mais ne s'étendant pas au nord de la levée empierrée Canso dans la baie St. Georges et de la masse terrestre contiguë et, pour plus de certitude, ne comprenant pas les eaux des lacs Bras d'Or, du canal St. Andrews, du canal St. Patricks, du lac Great Bras d'Or et des autres plans d'eau situés à l'intérieur de l'île du Cap-Breton.

La zone géographique d'intervention de Atlantic Emergency Response Team (ALERT) Inc.couvre toutes les eaux canadiennes situées entre la limite ouest formée par un arc ayant un rayon de 50 milles marins dont le centre est situé aux cordonnées 45º08'03"N 66º17'12"W et la limite est formée par un arc ayant un rayon de 50 milles marins autour d'un point centré sur le phare du cap Spencer.

Veuillez consulter la fin de cet avis pour connaître le nom de la personne-ressource des divers organismes d'intervention.

GARDE CÔTIÈRE CANADIENNE
(Surintendant, intervention environnementale)

Région de l’Ouest
604-270-3273

Région du Centre et de l’Arctique
519-383-1954 
418-648-4557

Région de l’Atlantique
902-426-3699


ORGANISMES D’INTERVENTION

Western Canada Marine Response Corporation
(WCMRC)
604-294-6001 
604-294-9116 (24 hours)


Société d’intervention maritime, Est du Canada Ltée.
(SIMEC)
613-230-7369

Région du Québec
418-692-8989

Région de l’Atlantique
902-461-9170

TRANSPORTS CANADA 

Sécurité et sûreté maritimes, Sécurité de la navigation et programmes environnementaux 
330, rue Sparks, 10e étage, K1A 0N5
613-991-3135 

Atlantic Emergency Response Team (ALERT) Inc.
506-202-4499

Point Tupper Marine Services Ltd. (PTMS)
902-625-1711

Autorité : Garde côtière canadienne et Transports Canada