31 REPORTING OF MARINE OCCURRENCES


The Transportation Safety Board (TSB) Regulations, made pursuant to the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act, require that the person responsible for the ship (e.g. owner, operator, charterer, master, pilot, crew member) in Canadian waters, or a Canadian ship in any waters, report an occurrence (accident or incident) as soon as possible and by the quickest means available.

The information is to be reported to the TSB and this can be accomplished by reporting it via a marine radio station, a Marine Communications and Traffic Services (MCTS) Centre, a vessel traffic services station, a marine radio station operated by the St. Lawrence Seaway Management Corporation, a Canadian harbour radio station, or by calling the following appropriate TBS Regional Stanby number directly at:

Atlantic Region :  902-471-0820
Central Region :  418-580-3510
Pacific Region :  604-219-2414

Persons responsible for ships are reminded that penalties may be incurred by failing to report a marine occurrence. The occurrence shall also be reported in writing, within 30 days following the occurrence, by completing the appropriate form. Please note that workplace injuries on board vessels must also be reported directly to Transport Canada.

The reporting form "REPORT OF A MARINE OCCURRENCE/HAZARDOUS OCCURRENCE REPORT" (form TSB 1808 (07-2013) is bilingual, back-to-back. Mariners required to report occurrences are advised that TSB forms can be downloaded either from the TSB web site at http://www.tsb.gc.ca/eng/incidents-occurrence/marine/index.aspor by requesting a copy at any TSB office.

The original TSB form is to be forwarded by mail, fax or email to the following appropriate TSB Regional office address:

Pacific Region:
Adress : # 4-3071 Number Five Road 
Richmond (British Columbia) 
V6X 2T4
Phone : 604-666-5826
Facsimile: 604-666-7230
E-mail: MarineNotifications.Pacific@tsb-bst.gc.ca
Central Region:
Adress : Place de la Cité / Tour Belle Cour 
2590, boul. Laurier, bureau 700 
Québec, (Québec) 
G1V 4M6 
Phone : 418-648-3576
Facsimile: 418-648-3656
E-mail: MarineNotifications.Central@tsb-bst.gc.ca
Atlantic Region :
Adress : 150 Thorne Avenue 
Dartmouth (Nova Scotia) 
B3B 1Z2 
Phone : 902-426-2348
Facsimile: 902-426-5143
E-mail: MarineNotifications.Atlantic@tbs-bst.gc.ca

Should further information be required, please contact any of the offices listed on the reporting form.

Authority: Transportation Safety Board of Canada- Marine (TSB-Marine)

31 SIGNALEMENT DES ÉVÉNEMENTS MARITIMES


Le Règlement sur le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST), découlant de la Loi sur le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports, exigent que la personne responsable d'un navire (par exemple le propriétaire, l'exploitant, l'affréteur, le capitaine, le pilote ou un membre d'équipage) se trouvant dans des eaux canadiennes, ou d'un navire canadien dans n'importe quelles eaux, signale un événement (accident ou incident) dès que possible et par les moyens de communication les plus rapides possible.

L'information doit être signalée au BST par l'entremise, notamment, d'une station radio maritime, d'un centre de Services de communications et de trafic maritimes (SCTM), d'une station de services du trafic maritime (STM), d'une station radio maritime exploitée par la Société de gestion de la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent ou d'une station maritime canadienne ou en composant directement le numéro de téléphone du centre Régional approprié :

Région de l'Atlantique :    902-471-0820 
Région Central :             418-580-3510 
Région du Pacifique :       604-219-2414

Toute personne responsable d'un navire est prévenue que des sanctions peuvent lui être imposées si elle omet de signaler un événement maritime. Un compte rendu de l'événement doit également être fait par écrit dans les 30 jours suivant l'événement, au moyen d'un formulaire prévu à cette fin. Veuillez noter que les blessures en milieu de travail à bord de navires doivent aussi être signalées directement à Transports Canada.

Le formulaire de compte rendu « RAPPORT D'INCIDENT MARITIME/RAPPORT D'INCIDENT DANGEREUX » (formulaire 1808 du BST (07-2013)) est bilingue et les deux versions sont recto verso. Les navigateurs qui doivent signaler un événement sont avisés que les formulaires peuvent être téléchargés à partir du site Web du BST à http://www.tsb.gc.ca/fra/incidents-occurrence/marine/index.aspou en communiquant avec un des bureaux du BST.

Le formulaire original du BST doit être transmis par courrier, télécopieur ou par courriel à l'adresse du bureau régional approprié :

Région de l'ouest :

Adresse :    # 4-3071 Number Five Road 
Richmond (Colombie-Britannique) 
V6X 2T4 
Téléphone :    604-666-5826 
Télécopieur:   604-666-7230 
Courriel :     AvisMarine.Pacifique@bst-tsb.gc.ca

Région du Centre et de l'Arctique :

Adresse :    Place de la Cité / Tour Belle Cour 
2590, boul. Laurier, bureau 700 
Québec, (Québec) 
G1V 4M6 
Téléphone :   418-648-3576 
Télécopieur:   418-648-3656 
Courriel :     AvisMarine.Centrale@bst-tsb.gc.ca

Région de l'Atlantique :

Adresse :    150 Thorne Avenue 
Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse) 
B3B 1Z2 
Téléphone :    902-426-2348 
Télécopieur :    902-426-5143 
Courriel :     AvisMarine.Atlantique@bst-tsb.gc.ca

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec les bureaux inscrits sur le formulaire de compte-rendu.

Autorité : Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada- Marine (BST- Marine)