GENERAL GUIDELINES FOR NATIONAL WILDLIFE AREAS


GENERAL GUIDELINES FOR NATIONAL WILDLIFE AREAS.

National Wildlife Areas of Canada

National Wildlife Areas (NWAs) are protected and managed according to the Wildlife Area Regulationsunder the Canada Wildlife Act. The primary purpose of most NWAs is the protection and conservation of wildlife and their habitat. For this purpose, and according to the legislation, activities that could interfere with the conservation of wildlife are prohibited in an NWA. Consequently, a few NWAs are not accessible to the public and there are prohibited activities in all of them. Nonetheless, the Minister of the Environment has the ability to authorize most of the activities, whether through public notice or the issuance of permits. Those activities benefiting wildlife and their habitat, or are not inconsistent with the purpose for which the NWA was established and are consistent with the management plan goals for the NWA may be permitted.

For general information regarding Canada’s National Wildlife Areas, please contact Environment and Climate Change Canada at 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only) or ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca, or visit our website: www.ec.gc.ca.

General Guidelines for National Wildlife Areas in Nunavut

Canadian and foreign ships are not allowed to enter these protected areas without a permit. Any foreign ship captain who is planning to enter in any of these protected areas without a permit, claiming a right of innocent passage, is strongly advised to communicate with Environment and Climate Change Canada (Canadian Wildlife Service) at least two weeks in advance. In the Nunavut territory, Inuit have certain rights as per the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement (NLCA) and the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement (IIBA).

Akpait National Wildlife Area

Coordinates

Akpait national wildlife area

All geographic coordinates (latitude and longitude) are expressed in the North American Datum 1983 (NAD 83) geodetic reference system.

Point Latitude Longitude
1 67°08′00″ N 61°51′00″ W
2 67°08′00″ N 61°29′06″ W
3 67°00′35″ N 61°15′00″ W
4 66°52′00″ N 61°15′00″ W
5 66°48′00″ N 61°20′00″ W
6 66°50′30″ N 61°35′00″ W
7 66°51′17″ N 61°51′00″ W
8 66°53′55″ N 61°51′00″ W
9 66°53′43″ N 61°49′00″ W
10 66°56′21″ N 61°49′00″ W
11 66°58′17″ N 61°51′00″ W

Prohibitions

Navigating within Akpait National Wildlife Area without a permit is prohibited except for Inuit exercising their rights as per the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement or the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement.

Permitting Requirements

A permit must be obtained to either navigate within or conduct any type of activity in the National Wildlife Area. Activities that may be permitted will be in accordance with the conservation objectives of the National Wildlife Area management plan. A permit is not required for Inuit exercising their rights as per the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement or the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement within the National Wildlife Area. More information on access and permitting for Akpait National Wildlife Area can be obtained by contacting the Environment and Climate Change Canada regional office.

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada – Prairie Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
P. O. Box 1714
Iqaluit, Nunavut,X0A 0H0
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

Ninginganiq National Wildlife Area

Coordinates

Ninginganiq National Wildlife Area

All latitudes and longitudes hereinafter are referred to the North American Datum of 1983, Canadian Spatial Reference System (NAD83(CSRS)

Point Latitude Longitude
1 69°50′00″ N 67°13′16.87″ W
2 69°50′00″ N 66°36′03″ W
3 69°17′00″ N 66°07′13″ W
4 69°17′00″ N 66°44′03.04″ W
5 69°34′43.78″ N 68°40′00″ W
6 69°39′27.57″ N 68°40′00″ W

Prohibitions

Navigating within Ninginganiq National Wildlife Area without a permit is prohibited except for Inuit exercising their rights as per the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement or the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement.

Permitting Requirements

A permit must be obtained to either navigate within or conduct any type of activity in the National Wildlife Area. Activities that may be permitted will be in accordance with the conservation objectives of the National Wildlife Area management plan. A permit is not required for Inuit exercising their rights as per the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement or the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement within the National Wildlife Area. More information on access and permitting for Ninginganiq National Wildlife Area can be obtained by contacting the Environment and Climate Change Canada regional office. https://ec.gc.ca/ap-pa/default.asp?lang=En&n=47D87A04-1#_005

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada – Prairie Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
P. O. Box 1714
Iqaluit, Nunavut,X0A 0H0
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

Nirjutiqavvik National Wildlife Area

Coordinates

Nirjutiqavvik National Wildlife Area

All latitudes and longitudes hereinafter described refer to the 1927 North American Datum.

All of the island known as Coburg Island, the centre of which having approximate latitude 75°57′50″ and approximate longitude 79°19′30″; and also all that land covered by water immediately adjacent to said Coburg Island and extending 10 km (5.4 Nautical Miles) from the ordinary high-water mark thereof.

Prohibitions

Navigating within Nirjutiqavvik National Wildlife Area without a permit is prohibited except for Inuit exercising their rights as per the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement or the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement.

Permitting Requirements

A permit must be obtained to either navigate within or conduct any type of activity in the National Wildlife Area. Activities that may be permitted will be in accordance with the conservation objectives of the National Wildlife Area management plan. A permit is not required for Inuit exercising their rights as per the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement or the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement within the National Wildlife Area.

More information on access and permitting for Nirjutiqavvik National Wildlife Area can be obtained by contacting the Environment and Climate Change Canada regional office.

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada – Prairie Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
P. O. Box 1714
Iqaluit, Nunavut,X0A 0H0
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

Qaqulluit National Wildlife Area

Coordinates

Qaqulluit National Wildlife Area

All latitudes and longitudes hereinafter are referred to the North American Datum of 1983, Canadian Spatial Reference System (NAD83(CSRS));

Point Latitude Longitude
1 67°17′13.53″ N 62°47′28.04″ W
2 67°21′05.00″ N 62°37′07.13″ W
3 67°21′40.56″ N 62°22′47.50″ W
4 67°18′24.40″ N 62°11′09.29″ W
5 67°13′05.16″ N 62°07′02.76″ W
6 67°08′01.14″ N 62°12′15.74″ W
7 67°10′31.73″ N 62°21′46.00″ W
8 67°11′35.41″ N 62°21′58.76″ W
9 67°12′15.21″ N 62°23′25.39″ W
10 67°12′38.43″ N 62°25′04.87″ W
11 67°11′38.90″ N 62°26′01.70″ W

Prohibitions

Navigating within Qaqulluit National Wildlife Area without a permit is prohibited except for Inuit exercising their rights as per the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement or the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement.

Permitting Requirements
A permit must be obtained to either navigate within or conduct any type of activity in the National Wildlife Area. Activities that may be permitted will be in accordance with the conservation objectives of the National Wildlife Area management plan. A permit is not required for Inuit exercising their rights as per the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement or the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement within the National Wildlife Area.

More information on access and permitting for Qaqulluit National Wildlife Area can be obtained by contacting the Environment and Climate Change Canada regional office.

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada – Prairie Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
P. O. Box 1714
Iqaluit, Nunavut,X0A 0H0
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

Polar Bear Pass National Wildlife Area

Coordinates

Polar Bear Pass National Wildlife Area

All coordinates quoted herein being Universal Transverse Mercator coordinates in Zone 14;

Point Northing Easting
1 8 421 000 540 000
2 8 412 000 537 600
3 8 406 700 531 300
4 8 401 500 545 500
5 8 373 800 545 700
6 8 368 700 549 200
7 8 367 000 548 000
8 8 372 000 542 500
9 8 380 000 541 600
10 8 383 300 536 200
11 8 383 300 472 600
12 8 384 900 470 900
13 8 386 100 470 800
14 8 388 100 475 600
15 8 398 600 476 400
16 8 390 000 440 000
17 8 410 000 500 000

Prohibitions

Navigating within Polar Bear Pass National Wildlife Area without a permit is prohibited except for Inuit exercising their rights as per the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement or the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement.

Permitting Requirements

A permit must be obtained to either navigate within or conduct any type of activity in the National Wildlife Area. Activities that may be permitted will be in accordance with the conservation objectives of the National Wildlife Area management plan. A permit is not required for Inuit exercising their rights as per the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement or the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement within the National Wildlife Area.

More information on access and permitting for Polar Bear Pass National Wildlife Area can be obtained by contacting the Environment and Climate Change Canada regional office.

Contact Information

Environment and Climate Change Canada – Prairie Northern Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Protected Areas and Stewardship
P. O. Box 1714
Iqaluit, Nunavut,X0A 0H0
Toll Free: 1-800-668-6767 (in Canada only)
Email : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

Authority: Environment and Climate Canada

5D LIGNES DIRECTRICES GÉNÉRALES POUR LES RÉSERVES NATIONALES DE FAUNE


LIGNES DIRECTRICES GÉNÉRALES POUR LES RÉSERVES NATIONALES DE FAUNE

Réserve nationale de faune du Canada

Les réserves nationales de faune (RNF) sont protégées et gérées conformément au Règlement sur les réserves d’espèces sauvages en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada. Le but premier de la majorité des RNF est la protection et la conservation des espèces sauvages et de leur habitat. À cet effet, et selon la législation, toute activité qui pourrait nuire à la conservation des espèces sauvages sont interdites dans une RNF. En conséquence, quelques RNF ne sont pas accessibles au public et il y a des activités interdites dans toutes les RNF. Cependant, le Ministre de l’Environnement a le pouvoir d’autoriser la tenue d’un grand nombre d’activités, soit par des avis publics ou par l’émission de permis. Les activités qui sont avantageuses pour les espèces sauvages et leur habitat, ou qui ne sont pas incompatibles avec le but pour lequel l’aire protégée a été établie et qui sont compatibles avec les objectifs du plan de gestion de la réserve nationale de faune en question, peuvent être permises.

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les réserves nationales de faune du Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le Environnement et Changement climatique Canada au 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement) ou ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca, ou visitez le site web www.ec.gc.ca.

Lignes directrice générales pour les réserves nationales de faune au Nunavut

Les navires canadiens et étrangers ne sont pas autorisés d'entrer dans cette aire protégée sans permis. Tous les capitaines de navire étranger planifiant d'entrer dans cette aire protégée sans permis en évoquant un droit de passage inoffensif, sont fortement conseiller de communiquer avec Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (service canadien de la faune) au moins deux semaines en avance. Dans le territoire du Nunavut, les Inuit ont certains droits en vertu de l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut (ARTN) et de l’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit.

LA RÉSERVE NATIONALE DE FAUNE AKPAIT

Coordonnées

réserve nationale de faune akpait

Toutes les latitudes et longitudes mentionnées ci-après se rapportent au Système de référence géodésique nord-américain de 1983, Système canadien de référence spatiale (NAD83[SCRS]).

Point Latitude Longitude
1 67°08′00″ N 61°51′00″ W
2 67°08′00″ N 61°29′06″ W
3 67°00′35″ N 61°15′00″ W
4 66°52′00″ N 61°15′00″ W
5 66°48′00″ N 61°20′00″ W
6 66°50′30″ N 61°35′00″ W
7 66°51′17″ N 61°51′00″ W
8 66°53′55″ N 61°51′00″ W
9 66°53′43″ N 61°49′00″ W
10 66°56′21″ N 61°49′00″ W
11 66°58′17″ N 61°51′00″ W

Restrictions

La navigation dans la réserve nationale de faune Akpait sans permis est interdite, sauf pour les Inuit exerçant leurs droits sous l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut ou de l’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit.

Exigences en matière de permis

Un permis doit être obtenu pour naviguer dans la réserve nationale de faune ou y effectuer tout type d’activité. Les activités pouvant être autorisées devront être conformes aux objectifs de conservation inscrits dans le plan de gestion de la réserve nationale de faune. Un permis n’est pas requis pour les Inuit exerçant leurs droits sous l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut ou de l’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit à l’intérieur de la réserve nationale de faune. De plus amples informations sur l'accès et l’émission de permis pour la réserve nationale de faune Akpait peuvent être obtenues en contactant le bureau d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de la région.

Renseignements

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Région des Prairies et du Nord
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et intendance
Casier postal 1714
Iqaluit, Nunavut, X0A 0H0
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

LA RÉSERVE NATINALE DE FAUNE NINGINGANIQ

Coordonnées

réserve nationale de faune ninginganiq

Toutes les latitudes et longitudes mentionnées ci-après se rapportent au Système de référence géodésique nord-américain de 1983, Système canadien de référence spatiale (NAD83[SCRS])

Point Latitude Longitude
1 69°50′00″ N 67°13′16.87″ W
2 69°50′00″ N 66°36′03″ W
3 69°17′00″ N 66°07′13″ W
4 69°17′00″ N 66°44′03.04″ W
5 69°34′43.78″ N 68°40′00″ W
6 69°39′27.57″ N 68°40′00″ W

Restrictions

La navigation dans la réserve nationale de faune Ninginganiq sans permis est interdite, sauf pour les Inuit exerçant leurs droits sous l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut ou de l’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit.

Exigences en matière de permis

Un permis doit être obtenu pour naviguer dans la réserve nationale de faune ou y effectuer tout type d’activité. Les activités pouvant être autorisées devront être conformes aux objectifs de conservation inscrits dans le plan de gestion de la réserve nationale de faune. Un permis n’est pas requis pour les Inuit exerçant leurs droits sous l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut ou de l’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit à l’intérieur de la réserve nationale de faune. De plus amples informations sur l'accès et l’émission de permis pour la réserve nationale de faune Ninginganiq peuvent être obtenues en contactant le bureau d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de la région. https://ec.gc.ca/ap-pa/default.asp?lang=Fr&n=47D87A04-1#_005

Renseignements

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Région des Prairies et du Nord
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et intendance
Casier postal 1714
Iqaluit, Nunavut, X0A 0H0
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

LA RÉSERVE NATIONALE DE FAUNE DE NIRJUTIQAVVIK

Coordonnées

réserve nationale de faune de nirjutiqavvik

Toutes les latitudes et longitudes mentionnées ci-après se rapportent au Système de référence géodésique nord-américain, 1927.

Toute l’île connue comme l’île Coburg, son centre ayant une latitude approximative de 75°57′50″ et une longitude approximative de 79°19′30″; ainsi que toutes les terres couvertes d’eau immédiatement adjacentes à l’île Coburg et sises en deçà de 10 kilomètres (5,4 miles nautiques) de la laisse ordinaire de haute mer de celle-ci.

Restrictions

La navigation dans la réserve nationale de faune Nirjutiqavvik sans permis est interdite, sauf pour les Inuit exerçant leurs droits sous l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut ou de l’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit.

Exigences en matière de permis

Un permis doit être obtenu pour naviguer dans la réserve nationale de faune ou y effectuer tout type d’activité. Les activités pouvant être autorisées devront être conformes aux objectifs de conservation inscrits dans le plan de gestion de la réserve nationale de faune. Un permis n’est pas requis pour les Inuit exerçant leurs droits sous l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut ou de l’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit à l’intérieur de la réserve nationale de faune.

De plus amples informations sur l'accès et l’émission de permis pour la réserve nationale de faune Nirjutiqavvik peuvent être obtenues en contactant le bureau d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de la région.https://ec.gc.ca/ap-pa/default.asp?lang=Fr&n=47D87A04-1#_005

Renseignements

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Région des Prairies et du Nord
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et intendance
Casier postal 1714
Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

LA RÉSERVE NATIONALE DE FAUNE QAQULLUIT

Coordonnées

réserve nationale de faune qaqulluit

Toutes les latitudes et longitudes mentionnées ci-après se rapportent au Système de référence géodésique nord-américain de 1983, Système canadien de référence spatiale (NAD83[SCRS]).

Point Latitude Longitude
1 67°17′13.53″ N 62°47′28.04″ W
2 67°21′05.00″ N 62°37′07.13″ W
3 67°21′40.56″ N 62°22′47.50″ W
4 67°18′24.40″ N 62°11′09.29″ W
5 67°13′05.16″ N 62°07′02.76″ W
6 67°08′01.14″ N 62°12′15.74″ W
7 67°10′31.73″ N 62°21′46.00″ W
8 67°11′35.41″ N 62°21′58.76″ W
9 67°12′15.21″ N 62°23′25.39″ W
10 67°12′38.43″ N 62°25′04.87″ W
11 67°11′38.90″ N 62°26′01.70″ W

Restrictions

La navigation dans la réserve nationale de faune Qaqulluit sans permis est interdite, sauf les Inuit exerçant leurs droits sous l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut ou de l’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit.

Exigences en matière de permis
Un permis doit être obtenu pour naviguer dans la réserve nationale de faune ou y effectuer tout type d’activité. Les activités pouvant être autorisées devront être conformes aux objectifs de conservation inscrits dans le plan de gestion de la réserve nationale de faune. Un permis n’est pas requis pour les Inuit exerçant leurs droits sous l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut ou de l’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit à l’intérieur de la réserve nationale de faune.https://ec.gc.ca/ap-pa/default.asp?lang=Fr&n=47D87A04-1#_005

De plus amples informations sur l'accès et l’émission de permis pour la réserve nationale de faune Qaqulluit peuvent être obtenues en contactant le bureau d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de la région.

Renseignements

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Région des Prairies et du Nord
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et intendance
Casier postal 1714
Iqaluit, Nunavut, X0A 0H0
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca

LA RÉSERVE NATIONALE DE FAUNE DE POLAR BEAR PASS

Coordonnées

réserve nationale de faune de polar bear pass

Les coordonnées citées sont déterminées d’après la Projection universelle transverse de Mercator dans la zone 14.

Point Ordonnée Absciss
1 8 421 000 540 000
2 8 412 000 537 600
3 8 406 700 531 300
4 8 401 500 545 500
5 8 373 800 545 700
6 8 368 700 549 200
7 8 367 000 548 000
8 8 372 000 542 500
9 8 380 000 541 600
10 8 383 300 536 200
11 8 383 300 472 600
12 8 384 900 470 900
13 8 386 100 470 800
14 8 388 100 475 600
15 8 398 600 476 400
16 8 390 000 440 000
17 8 410 000 500 000

Restrictions

La navigation dans la réserve nationale de faune Polar Bear Pass sans permis est interdite, sauf pour les Inuit exerçant leurs droits sous l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut ou de l’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit.

Exigences en matière de permis

Un permis doit être obtenu pour naviguer dans la réserve nationale de faune ou y effectuer tout type d’activité. Les activités pouvant être autorisées devront être conformes aux objectifs de conservation inscrits dans le plan de gestion de la réserve nationale de faune. Un permis n’est pas requis pour les Inuit exerçant leurs droits sous l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut ou de l’Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuit à l’intérieur de la réserve nationale de faune.

De plus amples informations sur l'accès et l’émission de permis pour la réserve nationale de faune de Polar Bear Pass peuvent être obtenues en contactant le bureau d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de la région.https://ec.gc.ca/ap-pa/default.asp?lang=Fr&n=47D87A04-1#_005

Renseignements

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada – Région des Prairies et du Nord
Service canadien de la faune
Aires protégées et intendance
Casier postal 1714
Iqaluit, Nunavut, X0A 0H0
Ligne sans frais : 1-800-668-6767 (au Canada seulement)
Courriel : ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca


Autorité: Environnement et Changement climatique Canada