5C AIRES MARINES NATIONALES DE CONSERVATION


1.  National Marine Conser

1.1  The Saguenay - St. Lawrence Marine Park

The Saguenay - St. Lawrence Marine Park exists by virtue of two acts, one from the Government of Canada and the other from the Government of Quebec (Saguenay - St. Lawrence Marine Park Act,  S.C. 1997, c. 37 and Loi sur le parc marin du Saguenay - Saint-Laurent,   R.S.Q, c. P-8.1). The Marine Park includes the Saguenay Fjord, downstream from Cap à l'Est, and the northern portion of the St. Lawrence Estuary between Gros Cap à l'Aigle upstream to Les Escoumins downstream (Figure 1). The Marine Park covers approximately 1,245 km2, includes the water column and seabed, and extends to the normal high-tide line. It protects representative portions of St. Lawrence Estuary and Saguenay Fjord ecosystems.

The Marine Park and surrounding waters are well known for the resident St. Lawrence beluga whale population and the wide diversity of marine mammals that migrate here, mainly to feed, between the months of April and November. Whales involved in feeding behaviour may suddenly surface unexpectedly. Heightened awareness on the part mariners is necessary in order to prevent collisions with whales.

Oceanographic conditions in the area produce very strong currents and periodical fog in summer. The presence of numerous ports and marinas, as well as an important whale-watching industry, generates intense navigational activity, particularly between Tadoussac and Les Escoumins.

The Saguenay - St. Lawrence Marine Park

Marine Mammal Protection

A. Marine Activities in the Saguenay - St. Lawrence Marine Park Regulations

Marine Activities in the Saguenay - St. Lawrence Marine Park Regulations (SOR/2002-76) regulate activities at sea, notably whale watching. The regulations indicate the maximum navigation speed permitted throughout the park, as well as the distances and speeds to be respected when whales are present. These distances vary depending on the risk status of a given species.

A permit is required in order to operate a marine tour business, to carry out scientific activities and for film productions. For more information on the Regulations, consult http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/regulations/SOR-2002-76/index.html.

The main prescribed behaviours include:

1. General prohibitions

No person shall engage in behaviour that may disturb, kill or injure a marine mammal. Any collision with a marine mammal must immediately be reported to a park warden by dialling 1-866-508-9888.

2. Distance requirements

A minimum distance of 400 meters from all endangered (blue whale) or threatened (beluga whale) marine mammals must be respected.

No person shall approach within 200 meters of any other whale species. Under certain conditions, tour operator permit holders may approach to 100 meters.

3. Speed limits

The maximum navigational speed within the Marine Park is 25 knots.

The speed limit in an observation zone (a one nautical mile radius around a vessel that is observing whales) is 10 knots.

When a vessel is between 400 meters and 200 meters of a whale (or between 400 and 100 meters in the case of tour operator permit holders under certain conditions):

  • The captain must not accelerate to a speed greater than the minimum speed required to manoeuvre the vessel.
  •  The captain must not repetitively stop or start the vessel or change its direction.
  • If a vessel unexpectedly encounters a threatened or endangered whale species (ex. beluga whale and blue whale) at a distance of less than 400 meters, the captain must reduce the speed of the vessel to a speed not greater than the minimum speed required to manoeuvre the vessel and move away to a distance greater than 400 meters.

B. Zoning

The zoning of the Marine Park is designed to protect specific habitats and the species that live within them while promoting ecologically sustainable use of the Marine Park and quality visitor experiences.Comprehensive preservation zones were created to protect especially sensitive habitat (Figure 2). These zones cover 3% of the Marine Park's surface area and include sectors that are particularly important to marine mammals and seabirds caring for their young and for resting. All mariners are requested to avoid these zones.

Comprehensive preservation zones

C. Marine Mammal Emergency

To report a marine mammal that is either in trouble or dead, call 1-877-722-5346.

Information

For questions concerning the Saguenay - St. Lawrence Marine Park, contact Parks Canada at 418-235-4703 or info.parcmarin@pc.gc.ca, or visit www.marinepark.qc.ca.

For general information regarding Parks Canada's National Marine Conservation Areas, National Parks or National Historic Sites, please contact our National Information Service at 1-888-773-8888 orinformation@pc.gc.ca, or visit Parks Canada website: www.parkscanada.gc.ca.

2.  National Marine Conservation Areas in the Great Lakes

2.1  Fathom Five National Marine Park

Fathom Five National Marine Park is a 114 km2 protected area located on Lake Huron near Tobermory, Ontario. Many of the islands within the park are protected under the Canada National Parks Act (S.C. 2000, c. 32). The waters are managed in the "spirit" of the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act (S.C. 2002, c. 18) using a variety of provincial and federal legislation. 

Fathom Five was first established in 1972 as a provincial park and later in 1987 became the first site to be under the stewardship of Parks Canada's national marine conservation area program. The park is renowned for its shipwrecks and diving opportunities.

Coordinates

Fathom Five National Marine Park

Restrictions

Restricted boating areas within Fathom Five National Marine Park are described in the Vessel Operation Restriction Regulations (SOR/2008-120; Schedule 1, Part 2, items 4 to 17) and are indicated on the map above.

Moorings are maintained within many of the restricted boating areas to facilitate diving and protect the shipwrecks. Coordinates are listed in the table below.

Shipwreck Name Easting Northing Latitude Longitude
Arabia 447220 5017855 45° 18' 43.975" N 81° 40' 24.002" W
447220 5017775 45° 18' 41.383" N 81° 40' 23.972" W
Boat Harbour 442860 5018575 45° 19' 06.075" N 81° 43' 44.525" W
Dunk's Point 450337 5012792 45° 16' 00.736" N 81° 37' 59.032" W
Forest City 456178 5018358 45° 19' 02.493" N 81° 33' 32.774" W
John Walters 444840 5012060 45° 15' 35.541" N 81° 42' 10.979" W
James C. King 444389 5012931 45° 16' 03.636" N 81° 42' 32.022" W
444323 5012906 45° 16' 02.808" N 81° 42' 35.041" W
Minch 444281 5015922 45° 17' 40.523" N 81° 42' 38.187" W
444543 5015795 45° 17' 36.482" N 81° 42' 26.108" W
Newaygo 441074 5013316 45° 16' 15.139" N 81° 45' 04.301" W
441058 5013253 45° 16' 13.093" N 81° 45' 05.009" W
440978 5013114 45° 16' 08.565" N 81° 45' 08.620" W
Points West 442737 5014998 45° 17' 10.135" N 81° 43' 48.686" W
Philo Scoville 445300 5013057 45° 16' 07.977" N 81° 41' 50.269" W
Sweepstakes 446607 5011556 45° 15' 19.701" N 81° 40' 49.712" W
446617 5011536 45° 15' 19.056" N 81° 40' 49.245" W
Truellen 444992 5015115 45° 17' 14.575" N 81° 42' 05.224" W
Tugs 448066 5011973 45° 15' 33.607" N 81° 39' 42.933" W
W.L. Wetmore 444297 5012669 45° 15' 55.121" N 81° 42' 36.138" W
444364 5012641 45° 15' 54.232" N 81° 42' 33.052" W

Note: Easting and Northing coordinates are Universal Transverse Mercator Projection Zone 17 North. All projected and geographic coordinates are North American Datum 1983.

Permitting Requirements

  • A park permit is required to enter restricted boating areas in the park.
  • A park permit is required prior to diving in the park.

Information

For questions concerning Fathom Five National Marine Park, contact Parks Canada at 519-596-2233 orbruce-fathomfive@pc.gc.ca, or visit www.parkscanada.gc.ca/fathomfive.

For general information regarding Parks Canada's National Marine Conservation Areas, National Parks or National Historic Sites, please contact our National Information Service at 1-888-773-8888 orinformation@pc.gc.ca, or visit Parks Canada website: www.parkscanada.gc.ca.

3.  National Marine Conservation Areas in Western Canada

3.1  Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, National Marine Conservation Area Reserve, and Haida Heritage site

Gwaii Haanas is a 5000 km2 land-and-sea protected area located at Haida Gwaii (formerly the Queen Charlotte Islands) in British Columbia. It is cooperatively managed by the Government of Canada and the Council of the Haida Nation. The terrestrial portion is protected under the Canada National Parks Act  (S.C. 2000, c. 32) and the adjacent marine area is protected under the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act  (S.C. 2002, c. 18).

Coordinates

Gwaii Haanas National Marine Conservation Area Reserve and Haida Heritage

Gwaii Haanas National Marine Conservation Area Reserve and Haida Heritage Site is one of the first National Marine Conservation Areas (NMCA) established in Canada. NMCAs are intended to protect and conserve representative marine areas for the benefit, education and enjoyment of the people of Canada and the world. The fully protected areas in the Gwaii Haanas Marine Area (see map) protect key areas of biodiversity, rare and sensitive ecosystem elements, and important cultural sites.

Permitting requirements

Those who would like to visit the Gwaii Haanas Terrestrial Area must obtain a permit at the Gwaii Haanas office in Skidegate or by calling 877-559-8818. Visitors are also required to receive an orientation prior to going ashore. These requirements do not apply to people of Haida ancestry.

Visitors are welcome at the Haida Gwaii Watchmen Sites including K'uuna Llnagaay (Skedans), T'aanuu Llnagaay (Tanu), Hlk'yah GawGa (Windy Bay), Gandll K'in Gwaay.yaay (Hotspring Island), and SGang Gwaay (Anthony Island). Between May and September, please contact the onsite Haida Gwaii Watchmen by radio (marine channel 6) before coming ashore.

Restrictions

  • Commercial and recreational extraction of all types (e.g., fishing, plant harvesting) are prohibited within the fully protected areas of the Gwaii Haanas Marine Area.
  •  Removal of any items from above the high tide line in Gwaii Haanas (i.e. within the Gwaii Haanas Terrestrial Area) is strictly prohibited.

Information

For questions concerning Gwaai Haanas National Park Reserve, National Marine Conservation Area Reserve and Haida Heritage Site, contact Parks Canada at 877-559-8818 or gwaii.haanas@pc.gc.ca, or visit www.parkscanada.gc.ca/gwaiihaanas.

For general information regarding Parks Canada's National Marine Conservation Areas, National Parks or National Historic Sites, please contact our National Information Service at 1-888-773-8888 orinformation@pc.gc.ca, or visit Parks Canada website: www.parkscanada.gc.ca.

Authority: Parks Canada Agency

5C AIRES MARINES NATIONALES DE CONSERVATION


1.   Aires marines nationales de conservation dans l'est du Canada
1.1   Le parc marin du Saguenay - Saint-Laurent, Québec

Le parc marin du Saguenay - Saint-Laurent est établi en vertu de deux lois, l'une du gouvernement du Canada et l'autre du gouvernement du Québec ( Loi sur le parc marin du Saguenay - Saint-Laurent,  L.C. 1997, ch. 37 et L.R.Q., chapitre P-8.1). Le parc marin comprend le fjord du Saguenay en aval du cap à l'Est, ainsi que la portion nord de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent à partir du Gros cap à l'Aigle (La Malbaie), en amont, jusqu'à Les Escoumins, en aval (Figure 1). Le parc marin couvre environ 1245 km2, inclut la colonne d'eau et les fonds marins et s'étend jusqu'à la ligne des hautes marées ordinaires. Il protège une portion représentative des écosystèmes de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent et du fjord du Saguenay.

La région du parc marin et des eaux avoisinantes est reconnue pour la population résidente de bélugas du Saint-Laurent et la grande diversité de mammifères marins qui y migrent, principalement entre avril et novembre, pour s'alimenter. Les comportements d'alimentation font en sorte que les baleines peuvent surgir à tout moment. Une vigilance accrue des navigateurs est essentielle pour prévenir les collisions entre bateaux et baleines.

Les conditions océanographiques de la région produisent des courants très forts et des périodes de brouillard en été. De nombreux ports et marinas ainsi que la présence d'une importante industrie d'excursion d'observation de baleines génèrent des activités de navigation intenses, particulièrement entre Tadoussac et Les Escoumins.

Le parc marin du Saguenay – Saint-Laurent

Protection des mammifères marins
A.   Règlement sur les activités en mer dans le parc marin du Saguenay-Saint-Laurent

Le Règlement sur les activités en mer dans le parc marin du Saguenay-Saint-Laurent (DORS/2002-76) encadre la pratique des activités en mer, notamment l'observation des baleines. Il indique la vitesse maximale de navigation permise dans le parc marin ainsi que les vitesses et les distances à respecter en présence de baleines. Ces distances varient selon le statut de précarité des espèces.

Un permis est requis pour exploiter une entreprise de croisière ou d'excursion en mer, pour pratiquer des activités scientifiques et pour les productions cinématographiques. Pour plus d'information sur le règlement, consultez http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/reglements/DORS-2002-76/index.html.

Les principaux comportements prescrits sont :

1. Interdictions générales

Il est interdit de se comporter d'une manière qui peut tuer, blesser ou déranger un mammifère marin. Toute collision avec un mammifère marin doit être signalée sans délai à un garde de parc au 1-866-508-9888.

2. Distances à respecter

Une distance supérieure à 400 mètres de toute espèce de mammifère marin en voie de disparition (rorqual bleu et béluga du Saint-Laurent) doit être respectée.

Il est interdit de s'approcher à moins de 200 mètres de toute autre espèce de baleine.

3. Vitesses maximales

La vitesse maximale de navigation dans le parc marin est de 25 nœuds.

Il est interdit au pilote d’un bateau, du 1er mai au 31 octobre, de naviguer dans l’embouchure du Saguenay, dont les limites sont identifiées aux figures 1 et 2, à une vitesse supérieure à 15 nœuds.

Si une baleine désignée menacée ou en voie de disparition (ex. : rorqual bleu) est soudainement aperçue à moins de 400 mètres, le capitaine doit circuler à la plus petite vitesse requise pour manœuvrer et s'éloigner à plus de 400 mètres.

B. Zonage

Le zonage du parc marin a pour objectif d'assurer la protection des écosystèmes, des habitats et des espèces qui y vivent tout en favorisant une utilisation écologiquement durable de cette aire protégée et des expériences de qualité aux visiteurs. Les zones de préservation intégrale sont destinées à la protection d'habitats particulièrement fragiles (Figure 2). Elles couvrent 3 % de la superficie du parc marin et comprennent des aires spécialement importantes pour le soin des jeunes et le repos chez les mammifères marins et les oiseaux de mer. Tous les navigateurs sont priés d'éviter ces zones.

Zones de préservation intégrale
C. Urgence mammifères marins

Pour tout signalement de mammifère marin mort ou en difficulté, composez le 1-877-722-5346.

Informations

Pour toute question concernant le parc marin du Saguenay-Saint-Laurent, veuillez communiquer avec Parcs Canada au 418-235-4703 ou info.parcmarin@pc.gc.ca, ou visitez le www.parcmarin.qc.ca.

Pour des renseignements sur les aires marines nationales de conservation, les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada, contactez le 1-888-773-8888 ou information@pc.gc.ca, ou visitez le www.parcscanada.gc.ca.

2. Aires marines nationales de conservation dans les Grands Lacs
2.1 Parc marin national Fathom Five, Ontario

Le parc marin national Fathom Five est une aire protégée de 114 km2 située dans le Lac Huron près de Tobermory en Ontario. Plusieurs des îles dans le parc sont protégées en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada (L.C. 2000, ch. 32). Les eaux du parc sont gérées dans « l'esprit » de la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada (L.C. 2002, ch. 18) en vertu de diverses lois provinciales et fédérales.

Fathom Five a été établi en 1972 à titre de parc provincial. En 1987, il est devenu le premier site sous l'égide du programme d'aire marine nationale de conservation de Parcs Canada. Le parc marin est reconnu pour ses épaves, ce qui en fait un site de plongée populaire.

Coordonnées
Parc marin national Fathom Five
Restrictions

Les eaux interdites à tous les bâtiments présentes dans le parc marin national Fathom Five sont décrites dans le Règlement sur les restrictions visant l'utilisation des bâtiments (DORS/2008-120; Annexe 1, Partie 2, articles 4 à 17) et sont illustrées sur la carte ci-dessus.

Des bouées d'amarrage sont en place à l'intérieur de plusieurs des « eaux interdites à tous les bâtiments » afin de faciliter la plongée et de protéger les épaves. Les coordonnées sont présentées dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Nom de l'épave Abscisse Ordonnée Latitude Longitude
Arabia 447220 5017855 45° 18' 43.975" N 81° 40' 24.002" W
447220 5017775 45° 18' 41.383" N 81° 40' 23.972" W
Boat Harbour 442860 5018575 45° 19' 06.075" N 81° 43' 44.525" W
Dunk's Point 450337 5012792 45° 16' 00.736" N 81° 37' 59.032" W
Forest City 456178 5018358 45° 19' 02.493" N 81° 33' 32.774" W
John Walters 444840 5012060 45° 15' 35.541" N 81° 42' 10.979" W
James C. King 444389 5012931 45° 16' 03.636" N 81° 42' 32.022" W
444323 5012906 45° 16' 02.808" N 81° 42' 35.041" W
Minch 444281 5015922 45° 17' 40.523" N 81° 42' 38.187" W
444543 5015795 45° 17' 36.482" N 81° 42' 26.108" W
Newaygo 441074 5013316 45° 16' 15.139" N 81° 45' 04.301" W
441058 5013253 45° 16' 13.093" N 81° 45' 05.009" W
440978 5013114 45° 16' 08.565" N 81° 45' 08.620" W
Points West 442737 5014998 45° 17' 10.135" N 81° 43' 48.686" W
Philo Scoville 445300 5013057 45° 16' 07.977" N 81° 41' 50.269" W
Sweepstakes 446607 5011556 45° 15' 19.701" N 81° 40' 49.712" W
446617 5011536 45° 15' 19.056" N 81° 40' 49.245" W
Truellen 444992 5015115 45° 17' 14.575" N 81° 42' 05.224" W
Tugs 448066 5011973 45° 15' 33.607" N 81° 39' 42.933" W
W.L. Wetmore 444297 5012669 45° 15' 55.121" N 81° 42' 36.138" W
444364 5012641 45° 15' 54.232" N 81° 42' 33.052" W

Note: Les coordonnées des abscisses et ordonnées sont de la Zone 17 Nord de la projection de Mercator transverse universelle. Toutes les coordonnées projetées et géographiques sont du système de référence nord-américain de 1983.

Exigences en matière de permis
  • Un permis du parc est requis pour accéder aux eaux interdites à tous les bâtiments qui se trouvent dans le parc marin;
  • Un permis du parc est requis pour faire de la plongée dans le parc marin.
Informations

Pour toute question concernant le parc marin national Fathom Five, veuillez communiquer avec Parcs Canada au 519-596-2233 ou bruce-fathomfive@pc.gc.ca, ou visitez lewww.parcscanada.gc.ca/fathomfive.

Pour des renseignements sur les aires marines nationales de conservation, les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le Service national d'information de Parcs Canada au 1-888-773-8888 ou information@pc.gc.ca, or visit Parks Canada website: www.parcscanada.gc.ca.

3. Aires marines nationales de conservation dans l'est du Canada
3.1 Réserve de parc national, réserve d'aire marine nationale de conservation et du site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas

Gwaii Haanas est une aire protégée terrestre et marine de 5000 kilomètres carrés située à Haida Gwaii (anciennement les îles Reine-Charlotte) en Colombie-Britannique. Elle est gérée de façon participative par le gouvernement du Canada et le Conseil de la Nation Haïda. La composante terrestre est protégée en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada  (L.C. 2000, ch. 32) et la composante marine adjacente est protégée en vertu de la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada  (L.C. 2002, ch. 18).

Coordonnées
Réserve de parc national, réserve d’aire marine nationale de conservation et du site du patrimoine Haida Gwaii Haanas

La réserve d'aire marine nationale de conservation et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas est l'une des premières aires marines nationales de conservation (AMNC) établies au Canada. Les AMNC ont pour but de protéger et conserver des aires marines représentatives pour le plaisir et l'enrichissement des connaissances de la population canadienne et mondiale. Les secteurs à protection intégrale dans la composante marine de Gwaii Haanas (voir la carte) protègent des secteurs clés pour la biodiversité, des éléments rares ou sensibles des écosystèmes et des sites culturels importants.

Exigences en matière de permis

Les personnes désirant visiter la composante terrestre de Gwaii Haanas doivent obtenir un permis au bureau de Gwaii Haanas à Skidegate ou en appelant le 877-559-8818. Les visiteurs doivent également assister à une séance d'orientation avant de descendre à terre. Ces exigences ne s'appliquent pas aux personnes d'origine Haïda.

Les visiteurs sont les bienvenues aux sites des gardiens de Haida Gwaii, y compris K'uuna Llnagaay (Skedans), T'aanuu Llnagaay (Tanu), Hlk'yah GawGa (Baie Windy), Gandll K'in Gwaay.yaay (Île Hotspring), and SGang Gwaay (Île Anthony). Entre mai et septembre, veuillez communiquer avec les gardiens de Haida Gwaii sur place par radio (voie maritime 6) avant de descendre à terre.

Restrictions
  • L'extraction commerciale ou récréative de tout type (p. ex. la pêche, la récolte des plantes) est interdite dans les secteurs à protection intégrale de la composante marine de Gwaii Haanas.
  • Au-dessus de la laisse des hautes eaux - soit à l'intérieur de la composante terrestre de Gwaii Haanas - l'enlèvement ou le retrait de tout objet ou item est strictement interdit.
Informations

Pour toute question concernant la réserve de parc national, réserve d'aire marine nationale de conservation et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas veuillez communiquer avec Parcs Canada au 877-559-8818 ou gwaii.haanas@pc.gc.ca, ou visitez le www.parcscanada.gc.ca/gwaiihaanas.

Pour des renseignements sur les aires marines nationales de conservation, les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada, veuillez communiquer avec le Service national d'information de Parcs Canada au 1-888-773-8888 ou information@pc.gc.ca, ou visitez lewww.parcscanada.gc.ca.

Autorité : Agence Parcs Canada