3Requirements Related to the Protection of Aids to Navigation

CANADA SHIPPING ACT, 2001

PART 5, Section 129

Obligation to report damage

129(1)If a vessel, or anything towed by a vessel, runs down, moves, damages or destroys an aid to navigation in Canadian waters, the person in charge of the vessel shall, without delay, make a report to a marine communications and traffic services officer or, if that is not feasible, to an officer of the Canadian Coast Guard.

Obligation to report — navigation hazard

(2)A person in charge of a vessel in Canadian waters who discovers an uncharted hazard to navigation, or discovers that an aid to navigation is missing, out of position or malfunctioning, shall make a report without delay to a marine communications and traffic services officer or, if that is not feasible, to an officer of the Canadian Coast Guard.

Reference: http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/C-10.15/page-16.html

CRIMINAL CODE

Section 439 of the Criminal Code of Canada provides:

439 (1)Every one who makes fast a vessel or boat to a signal, buoy or other sea-mark that is used for purposes of navigation is guilty of an offence punishable on summary conviction.

(2)Every one who wilfully alters, removes or conceals a signal, buoy or other sea-mark that is used for purposes of navigation is guilty of an indictable offence and liable to imprisonment for a term not exceeding ten years.

Reference: http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/C-46/page-92.html

Authority: Justice Laws Canada
Transport Canada
Canadian Coast Guard
Canada Shipping Act, 2001
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/C-10.15/FullText.html

3 CONCERNANT LA PROTECTION DES AIDES À LA NAVIGATION


LOI DE 2001 SUR LA MARINE MARCHANDE DU CANADA, PARTIE 5, section 129

Obligation d'informer des dommages

129(1) Dans le cas où un bâtiment - ou tout objet à sa remorque - renverse, déplace, endommage ou détruit une aide à la navigation dans les eaux canadiennes, la personne responsable du bâtiment en informe aussitôt que possible un fonctionnaire chargé des services de communications et de trafic maritimes ou, si cela n'est pas possible, un membre de la garde côtière canadienne.

Obligation d'informer en cas de danger pour la navigation

(2) Si elle constate l'existence dans les eaux canadiennes d'un danger pour la navigation non indiqué sur les cartes marines ou l'absence, le déplacement ou le mauvais fonctionnement d'une aide à la navigation, la personne responsable d'un bâtiment est tenue d'en informer aussitôt que possible un fonctionnaire chargé des services de communications et de trafic maritimes ou, si cela n'est pas possible, un membre de la garde côtière canadienne.

Référence: http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/C-10.15/page-16.html

Code criminel

Section 439 du Code criminel stipule :

439(1) Est coupable d'une infraction punissable sur déclaration de culpabilité par procédure sommaire quiconque amarre un navire ou un bateau à un signal, une bouée ou un autre amer servant à la navigation.

(2) Est coupable d'un acte criminel et passible d'un emprisonnement maximal de dix ans quiconque volontairement change, enlève ou cache un signal, une bouée ou un autre amer servant à la navigation.

Référence: http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/C-46/page-202.html

Autorité : Ministère de la Justice
Transports Canada
Garde côtière canadienne
Loi de 2001 sur la Marine marchande du Canada
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/lois/C-10.15/TexteComplet.html