2 Cautions in the Use of Aids to Navigation

1.  Mariners are cautioned not to rely solely on buoys for navigation purposes. Navigation should be by bearings or angles from fixed aids on shore or other charted landmarks and by sounding or through the use of satellite or radio-navigation systems, whenever possible.

2.  Most aids to navigation are not under continuous observation and mariners should be aware that failures and displacements do occur. The Canadian Coast Guard does not guarantee that all aids to navigation will operate as advertised and in the positions advertised at all times. Mariners observing aids to navigation out of operation, out of position, damaged or missing are responsible for reporting such problems to the nearest Canadian Coast Guard Marine Communication and Traffic Services Centre on VHF Ch. 16 immediately or to the closest Canadian Coast Guard office.

3.  Aids to navigation are subject to damage, failure and dislocation. This may be caused by ice, storms, vessel strikes and power failures. Ice and storm damage may be widespread and require considerable time to repair. Isolated damage may exist for a long time without being discovered and reported. Floating aids and pier lights in or near the water which are exposed to particularly rigorous strain during ice movement are at the greatest risk of damage.

4.  Mariners are cautioned that aids to navigation may fail to exhibit their advertised characteristics. Lights may be extinguished or aural signals may not function due to ice, collisions, mechanical failure and, in the case of bell and whistle buoys, calm water. The shape of an aid to navigation may be altered by ice formation or damage. The colour of an aid to navigation may be altered by freezing spray, marine growth or fouling by birds.

5.  The buoy positions shown on nautical charts should be considered as approximate positions. There are a number of limiting factors in accurately positioning buoys and their anchors. These factors include prevailing atmospheric and sea conditions, tidal and current conditions, seabed conditions and the fact that buoys are moored to anchors by varying lengths of chain and may drift about their charted positions within the scope of their moorings.

6.  Since moving ice is liable to move buoys from their advertised positions, mariners should proceed with extreme caution under these circumstances.

7.  Mariners are reminded that because of differences in horizontal datum (i.e. NAD 27, NAD 83), grids of charts of an area may vary from one chart to another. When plotting the positions of aids to navigation by the latitude and longitude method, the results should be checked against other available information.

8.  In some instances, it is necessary to establish a buoy in close proximity to or on a navigational hazard (e.g. shoal, reef or ledge, etc.). In these instances, the buoy symbol may be off-set slightly on the chart in the direction of the preferred navigable water so that the existing hazard depicted on the chart will not be overprinted by the buoy symbol. Such off-sets will be indicated on the chart by means of an arrow.

9.  Mariners are cautioned not to navigate too closely to a buoy and risk collision with it, its mooring or with the underwater obstruction which it marks.

10.  Many lights are equipped with sun switches. These lights, both on shore and on most buoys, are unlit between sunrise and sunset. Mariners unable to see these lights during the daylight hours should not assume that the equipment is malfunctioning.

11.  Many light stations which exhibit a main light 24 hours per day are equipped with an emergency light which is brought into service automatically in the event of failure. These emergency lights are white, have a standard character of group flashing (6)15s and operate throughout the hours of darkness. Emergency lights are normally visible at 5 nautical miles on a dark night with a clear atmosphere. The List of Lights, Buoys and Fog Signalspublications identify which aids to navigation are equipped with emergency lights.

12.  Atmospheric conditions can have a considerable effect on light transmission and the visibility of lights. For example:

(a) The distance to a light cannot be reliably estimated from its apparent brightness.

(b) It is difficult to distinguish between a white light and a yellow or blue light seen alone at night, except at a short distance.

(c) Under some atmospheric conditions, white and yellow lights take on a reddish hue.

(d) Alternating lights with phases of different luminous intensity may change their apparent characteristics at different distances because some phases may not be visible.

(e) When observed from similar distances, lower intensity lights are more easily obscured by conditions of low visibility than more powerful lights. Coloured lights are often of lower intensity than white lights and are more quickly lost under unfavourable circumstances.

(f) Ice, frost or moisture may form on the windows of a lantern during cold weather and more particularly this may reduce their visibility and could cause coloured lights to appear white.

(g) A light exhibiting a very short flash may not be visible at as great a range as a light exhibiting a longer flash.

13.  The mariner should not rely solely on colour when using a sector light, but should verify the vessel's line of position by taking a bearing on the light. On either side of the line of demarcation, between white and red, and also between white and green, there is always a small arc of uncertain colour.

14.  When the arc of visibility of a light is cut off by sloping land, the bearing at which it disappears or appears will vary with the observer's distance and height of eyes.

15.  The sighting of a light may be adversely affected by a strongly illuminated background.

16.  In view of the varying distances at which a fog signal can be heard at sea, and the frequent occurrence of fog near, but not observable from, a fog signal, mariners are cautioned that:

(a) When approaching land in fog, they should not rely implicitly upon these fog signals, but should always take soundings, which in nearly all cases will give sufficient warning of danger.

(b) Distance from a fog signal should not be judged by the power of the sound. Under certain atmospheric conditions, the sound may be lost at a very short distance from the signal. These conditions may vary within a very short period of time. Mariners should not assume that a fog signal is not in operation because they do not hear it, even when in close proximity.

17.  Visual aids to navigation provided by the Canadian Coast Guard are for the purpose of assisting marine navigation. Hunters, snowmobilers and ice fishers are cautioned that aids to navigation installed for marine navigation purposes cannot be relied upon after the closing the marine navigation season. Such aids may stop operating without warning and will not be re-commissioned by the Canadian Coast Guard until the next opening of marine navigation season.

Continuous Improvement

The Canadian Coast Guard continuously strives to improve efficiencies in the provision of the Canadian aids to navigation system. In some instances, these efficiencies are achieved through the use and implementation of new products and technologies. These include, but are not limited to, changes in the use of plastic buoys rather than steel; and the use of LED lanterns. Mariners are advised that every effort has been made by the Canadian Coast Guard to ensure that new equipment provides safe and reliable aids to navigation systems. If there are any concerns, please contact the Aids to Navigation Superintendent, in your region.

Atlantic Region

The lights on the South Coast of Newfoundland from Cape St. Francis on the Avalon Peninsula to Cape Anguille on the shore of Cabot Strait and certain lights in Notre Dame Bay, Bonavista Bay, Trinity Bay, Conception Bay and Bay of Islands are exhibited all year. All other lights under the control of the Canadian Coast Guard are maintained in operation whenever navigation in the vicinity is open. Lights used solely as harbour lights are not exhibited when the harbour is closed, although general navigation may remain open. Lights which are primarily for the benefit of fishermen are maintained only during the fishing season. In any case where there is reasonable doubt whether the light is required, it is kept in operation. During the winter, some lighted buoys are replaced with winter spars so that it should not be assumed that there are no aids present even though the lights in a given area have been extinguished for the season. The details of all changes in aids to navigation will be described in Notices to Shipping.

The lights in the Bay of Fundy and along the Southwestern and Eastern Coast of Nova Scotia, the Coast of Cape Breton Island, including the Bras d'Or Lakes, the Coast of Prince Edward Island, and along the Northumberland Strait, and Chaleur Bay to the Québec Border, are exhibited year round.

Exceptions to the aforementioned lights are those lights listed as seasonal in the "Remarks" column of the List of Lights, Buoys and Fog Signals

Range lights on the north shore of Prince Edward Island and the east shore of New Brunswick are liable to be moved to mark shifting channels.

All light buoys in the lower part of the Bay of Fundy west of a line drawn through Tufts Point on the New Brunswick shore east of Quaco Head, and Port Lorne light on the Nova Scotia shore; and on the south coast of Nova Scotia west of Liscomb, are maintained year round.

Due to difficulties in maintaining buoys through the winter months as a result of freezing spray and drift ice and the buoys being displaced or set adrift, the lifting of buoys in the upper part of the Bay of Fundy and along the Nova Scotia Coast and Cape Breton Island including the Bras d'Or Lakes and in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and Northumberland Strait to the Québec Border commence lifting November 15 and continue throughout the fall months depending on navigation activity in each area. A certain number of summer buoys are replaced by winter spar buoys. (Those buoys are indicated in the column "Remarks" of the List of Lights, Buoys and Fog Signals). Details on changes made to fixed and floating aids for the winter season are published every fall in a Notice to Shipping by the Atlantic Region and disseminated by means of a radio broadcast when changes occur.

Buoys marking the deep water channel to the Strait of Canso will remain on position unless otherwise advised by Notices to Shipping.

Some summer buoys are replaced by winter spar buoys.

Central and Arctic Region

The fixed lighted aids and fog signals are exhibited year round, except for the lights with the annotation "Seasonal" in the "Remarks" column of the List of Lights, Buoys and Fog Signals. Seasonal lights are maintained approximatively from April 1 st  to December 20 th, except in Hudson Strait and Hudson Bay which are maintained mostly from June 1 st  to December 1 st.

All other lights under the control of the Canadian Coast Guard are maintained in operation whenever navigation in the vicinity is open.

Some fixed aids (which have been modernized to LED between Beauharnois and Traverse du Nord) are endowed with an emergency mode function resulting from the main light. To identify which range lights are provided with this emergency mode function, it is necessary to refer to the column "Remarks" of the List of Lights, Buoys and Fog Signals. Consequently, the range light showing a fixed characteristic F  in the main mode will show an isophase light characteristic and a reduced output in the emergency mode, ISO 1s (0.5s flash; 0.5s eclipse).

A great number of conventional fixed lighted aids whose main light remains permanently lighted are equipped with emergency lights that turn on automatically at night if the main light is not working. These emergency lights operating temporarily have a different range and characteristic from the main light. To identify which main light is provided with an emergency light, it is necessary to refer to the "Remarks column" of the List of Lights, Buoys and Fog Signals.

Moreover, some range lights in restricted channels are equipped with a secondary light. This is a third light, which is neither the main light visible in line of range nor the emergency light: The characteristics of this light are different from those of the main or emergency light. This secondary light (for reference or positioning) is often visible over 360 degrees or for a given sector. Complete information concerning this light is available in the List of Lights, Buoys and Fog Signals.

Some floating aids are permanently replaced by new plastic or steel year-round lighted ice spars moored for a two-year period, and left in the water year round. You can obtain information on the characteristics of these buoys by consulting the List of Lights, Buoys and Fog Signals.

Details on changes made to the aids to navigation are published by broadcasted Notices to Shipping and/or written Notices to Shipping and may be available on the Canadian Coast Guard, Central and Arctic Region internet website at  http://www.marinfo.gc.ca.

In general, buoys are commissioned in the spring (or during the summer in the Arctic) as early as ice conditions will permit and are lifted during the fall prior to the winter season.

For the winter season, many lighted buoys are replaced by winter spar buoys. Mariners are invited to contact the appropriate MCTS center or to consult the Canadian Coast Guard, Central and Arctic Region internet website at http://www.marinfo.gc.ca to obtain updates on the seasonal buoy tending activities and operations status report in their area.

The commissioning of seasonal aids may be delayed if weather and/or ice conditions preclude the operation of aids vessels. Mariners are urged to take every precaution and not to rely exclusively on aids to navigation.

NOTE:
Many buoys are lifted; while others remain in the water in an unmaintained status during the winter. Mariners, who use channels before the official opening of the navigational season, are cautioned that these buoys may or may not be in their advertised positions and may or may not be displaying proper characteristics. After the position and status of the floating aids have been verified, a Notice to Shipping will be issued advising mariners that the aids have been checked and are in a maintained status. Such Notices may be broadcast over the Coast Guard VHF radio network and may be available on the Canadian Coast Guard, Central and Arctic Region internet website at  http://www.marinfo.gc.ca.

Western Region

The lights and buoys along the Pacific Coast are maintained in operation throughout the year. Details on changes made to fixed and floating aids are published in a Notice to Shipping by the Region and disseminated by means of radio broadcast when they occur.

In the spring, freshet conditions on the Fraser River cause the positions of floating aids to be unreliable. Displaced buoys on the Fraser River may be temporarily removed from service, in which case mariners will be advised by a Notice to Shipping.

The establishment and discontinuance of aids to navigation in the Mackenzie System are determined by prevailing ice conditions. Mariners are cautioned that floating aids are subject to displacement by ice and will be decommissioned and/or abandoned at the closing of the season as sea and ice conditions dictate.

The commissioning of seasonal aids may be delayed if weather and/or ice conditions preclude the operation of aids vessels. Mariners are urged to take every precaution and not to rely exclusively on aids to navigation.

NOTE:
Most floating aids are removed at the end of the navigational season but small percentages are left in the water during the winter. Mariners, who use channels marked by such buoys before the official opening of the navigational season, are cautioned that these buoys may not be in their advertised positions due to storms and shifting ice caused by winter conditions. After the position and the condition of the aids have been verified, a Notice to Shipping will be issued to advise mariners that the aids have been checked and that the channels in each local area are open for navigation. Such Notices may be promulgated over the Coast Guard VHF radio network, or may appear in the monthly Notices to Mariners.



Authority: Canadian Coast Guard

2 AVERTISSEMENTS AFFÉRENTS À L'UTILISATION DES AIDES À LA NAVIGATION


  1. Les navigateurs sont avertis qu'ils ne doivent pas se fier uniquement aux bouées pour naviguer. La navigation doit également se faire au moyen de relèvements ou de mesures d'angles utilisant des aides fixes sur la côte ou des amers indiqués sur les cartes et au moyen de sondages ou, si possible, d'appareils de radionavigation ou de navigation par satellite.

  2. La plupart des aides à la navigation ne sont pas continuellement surveillées. Les navigateurs doivent savoir que des défaillances ou des déplacements sont inévitables. La Garde côtière canadienne ne garantit pas que toutes les aides à la navigation fonctionnent continuellement de la manière annoncée ou demeurent constamment à la position prévue. Les navigateurs qui découvrent des aides à la navigation défectueuses, déplacées, endommagées ou manquantes doivent immédiatement signaler ces problèmes au centre le plus proche des Services de communication et de trafic maritimes de la Garde côtière canadienne par VHF sur la bande 16, ou au bureau le plus proche de la Garde côtière canadienne.

  3. Les aides à la navigation sont exposées à des dommages, des défaillances ou des déplacements qui peuvent être causés par les glaces ou les tempêtes, par des collisions avec des navires et des pannes de courant. Les dommages causés par les glaces ou les tempêtes peuvent être très étendus et pourraient nécessiter une période considérable de réparations. Des dommages touchant une aide isolée peuvent ne pas être découverts et signalés avant longtemps. Les aides flottantes et les feux de jetée situés dans ou à proximité des eaux qui sont exposées à des rigueurs extrêmes lors du mouvement des glaces présentent le risque le plus important de dommages.

  4. Les navigateurs sont prévenus que les aides à la navigation ne montrent pas toujours leurs caractéristiques annoncées. Les feux peuvent s'éteindre ou les signaux sonores peuvent cesser de fonctionner à cause de la glace, de collisions, de pannes mécaniques, et dans le cas des bouées à cloche ou à sifflet, à cause des eaux calmes. La forme d'une aide à la navigation peut être modifiée par l'accumulation de glace ou en raison de dommages. Sa couleur peut aussi être altérée par les embruns verglaçants, l'accumulation d'algues ou de fientes d'oiseaux.

  5. Il faut noter que la position des bouées indiquées sur les cartes marines n'est qu'approximative. Un certain nombre de facteurs empêchent de mouiller les bouées et leurs ancres à des points précis. Par exemple, les conditions atmosphériques ambiantes, l'état de la mer, les conditions de marée et de courant, la configuration du fond de la mer, le fait que les bouées sont amarrées à leurs ancres par des chaînes de différentes longueurs et qu'elles peuvent s'écarter de leur position indiquée sur la carte selon une distance déterminée par leurs systèmes d'ancrage.

  6. Sachant que les glaces en mouvement peuvent déplacer les bouées par rapport à la position indiquée, les navigateurs devraient procéder avec une extrême prudence dans ces circonstances.

  7. Les navigateurs ne doivent pas oublier qu'en raison de différences dans les systèmes de référence géodésique (par ex. NAD 27, NAD 83), le quadrillage des cartes d'une région peut varier d'une carte à l'autre. Lorsqu'on détermine la position des aides à la navigation au moyen de la méthode de la latitude et de la longitude, il y a lieu de vérifier les résultats en les comparants avec d'autres renseignements.

  8. Dans certains cas où il est nécessaire de mouiller une bouée à proximité d'un danger à la navigation (par ex. un haut-fond, un récif ou une barre rocheuse), le symbole de la bouée sur la carte peut être légèrement déplacé dans la direction des eaux sûres afin de ne pas obstruer ou cacher l'indication du danger représenté. De tels déplacements seront signalés sur la carte par une flèche.

  9. Les navigateurs devraient éviter de naviguer trop près d'une bouée pour ne pas risquer de la frapper ou de heurter son système d'ancrage ou l'obstacle sous-marin qu'elle indique.

  10. Bon nombre de feux automatiques sont dotés d'interrupteurs à cellule photoélectrique. Ces feux, tant sur les côtes que sur la plupart des bouées, sont éteints entre le lever et le coucher du soleil. Il ne faut donc pas présumer que les feux ne fonctionnent pas normalement quand ils ne sont pas visibles de jour.

  11. Bon nombre de phares dont le feu principal reste allumé 24 heures sur 24 sont dotés de feux de secours qui s'allument automatiquement en cas de panne. Ces feux de secours sont blancs et ont une caractéristique uniforme consistant en des éclats groupés (6)15s et s'allument la nuit. Habituellement, ils sont visibles à 5 milles marins (par nuit sombre, dans des conditions atmosphériques favorables). Les publications des Livres des feux, des bouées et des signaux de brume indiquent quelles aides à la navigation sont munies de feux de secours.

  12. Les conditions atmosphériques peuvent avoir des effets considérables sur la transmission de la lumière et la visibilité des feux. Par exemple :
    1. La distance du feu ne peut pas être évaluée avec exactitude uniquement d'après son éclat apparent.
    2. Sauf à faible distance, il est difficile de distinguer, de nuit, si un feu est blanc, jaune ou bleu lorsqu'il est isolé.
    3. Dans certaines conditions atmosphériques, les feux blancs et jaunes peuvent présenter une teinte rougeâtre.
    4. Les caractéristiques visibles d'un feu alternatif présentant des phases d'intensité lumineuse différentes peuvent varier selon la distance du fait que certaines phases peuvent ne pas être visibles.
    5. Lorsqu'ils sont observés à des distances similaires, les feux à faible intensité sont plus facilement obscurcis lorsque les conditions de visibilité sont mauvaises que les feux plus puissants. Les feux colorés ont souvent une intensité inférieure à celle des feux blancs et sont plus difficiles à repérer dans des conditions défavorables.
    6. De la glace, du givre ou de l'humidité peuvent se former sur la lanterne des feux par temps froid, et plus particulièrement, cela réduit leur visibilité et pourrait donner l'impression que les feux colorés sont blancs.
    7. Un feu produisant un éclat très court peut ne pas être visible à une aussi grande distance qu'un feu produisant un éclat plus long.

  13. Le navigateur doit éviter de se fier uniquement à la couleur lorsqu'il se sert d'un feu à secteurs, mais il doit également contrôler sa ligne de position en relevant le feu. De chaque côté de la ligne de démarcation, entre le blanc et le rouge et aussi entre le blanc et le vert, se trouve un petit arc de couleur indéfinissable.

  14. Lorsque le secteur de visibilité d'un feu est coupé par une pente de terrain, le relèvement auquel il disparaît ou apparaît variera avec la distance de l'observateur et la hauteur des yeux.

  15. Un arrière-plan fortement éclairé peut nuire à l'observation d'un feu.

  16. Compte tenu de la distance variable à laquelle un signal de brume peut être entendu en mer et du fait qu'il y a souvent de la brume près d'une station dotée d'un avertisseur de brume sans pour autant qu'elle soit visible de la station, les navigateurs doivent noter que :
    1. lorsqu'ils approchent de la terre dans la brume, ils ne doivent pas se fier uniquement aux signaux de brume mais doivent toujours prendre des sondages qui, dans presque tous les cas, donnent un avertissement suffisant du danger.

    2. ils ne doivent pas estimer la distance qui les sépare d'un signal de brume en se fondant sur la puissance du son. Dans certaines conditions atmosphériques, le son cesse parfois d'être audible à une très faible distance de la station, et ces conditions peuvent varier en un très court laps de temps. Les navigateurs ne doivent jamais supposer que le signal de brume ne fonctionne pas du fait qu'ils ne l'entendent pas, même lorsqu'ils sont dans son voisinage immédiat.

  17. Les aides visuelles à la navigation installées par la Garde côtière canadienne ont pour but de faciliter la navigation maritime. Les chasseurs, les motoneigistes et les pêcheurs sur la glace doivent éviter de se fier aux aides à la navigation maritime après la fermeture de la saison de navigation. Les aides peuvent s'arrêter de fonctionner sans avertissement et ne seront pas remises en service par la Garde côtière canadienne avant l'ouverture de la saison de navigation suivante.
AMÉLIORATION PERMANENTE

La Garde côtière canadienne tente constamment de réaliser des gains d'efficacité et des économies dans la prestation du Système canadien d'aides à la navigation. Dans certains cas, ces gains sont obtenus en utilisant et mettant en œuvre de nouveaux produits et technologies. Ceux-ci incluent mais ne sont pas limités à l'utilisation des bouées fabriquées en plastique plutôt qu'en acier et les lanternes à DEL. Les navigateurs sont avisés que la Garde côtière canadienne déploie tous ses efforts afin d'assurer que la nouvelle technologie fournit des systèmes d'aides à la navigation fiables et sécuritaires. Si vous avez des préoccupations, veuillez contacter le surintendant des Aides à la navigation de votre région.

Région de l'Atlantique

Les feux sur la côte Sud de Terre-Neuve qui s'échelonnent du cap Saint-François sur la péninsule Avalon au cap à l'Anguille sur la côte du détroit de Cabot et certains feux dans la baie Notre-Dame, la baie Bonavista, la baie Trinité, la baie Conception et la baie des Îles, sont allumés à longueur d'année. Tous les autres feux qui relèvent de la Garde côtière canadienne sont en service lorsque la navigation est ouverte dans la région. Les feux de port ne sont pas allumés lorsque le port est fermé, même si la navigation en général reste ouverte. Les feux de pêche ne sont allumés que durant la saison de pêche. Dans tous les cas où il est raisonnable de croire que les feux sont nécessaires, ils sont tenus en service. Durant l'hiver, certaines bouées lumineuses sont remplacées par des bouées à espar d'hiver pour qu'il ne soit pas supposé qu'il n'y a pas d'aide présente même si les feux d'une région donnée sont éteints pour la saison. Les détails de tous les changements dans les aides à la navigation seront décrits dans les Avis à la navigation.

Les feux dans la baie de Fundy,le long de la côte Sud-Ouest ainsi que de la côte Est de la Nouvelle-Écosse, la côte de l'île du Cap-Breton, y compris les lacs Bras d'Or, la côte de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le long du détroit de Northumberland, et la Baie des Chaleurs jusqu'à la limite du Québec, sont allumés à longueur d'année.

L'exception aux feux susmentionnés est les feux inscrits comme saisonnier dans la colonne « Remarques » du Livre des feux, des bouées et des signaux de brume.

Les feux d'alignement sur la côte Nord de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et ceux qui sont situés sur la côte Est du Nouveau-Brunswick, parce qu'ils servent à indiquer des chenaux mouvants peuvent être déplacés sans avis.

Toutes les bouées lumineuses de la partie inférieure de la baie de Fundy situées à l'Ouest d'une ligne tirée entre Tufts Point, sur la côte du Nouveau-Brunswick à l'Est de Quaco Head, et le feu de Port Lorne, sur la côte de la Nouvelle-Écosse, et toutes celles qui sont situées sur la côte Sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse à l'Ouest de Liscomb sont entretenues à longueur d'année.

Comme il est difficile de maintenir des bouées en service durant l'hiver à cause des embruns qui se congèlent et des glaces mouvantes, et comme il leur arrive d'être déplacées ou lancées à la dérive, le relevage des bouées de la partie supérieure de la baie de Fundy et le long de la côte de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de l'Île du Cap-Breton, y compris les lacs Bras d'Or et dans le Golfe du Saint-Laurent et du détroit de Northumberland jusqu'à la limite du Québec commencera le 15 novembre et continuera durant les mois d'automne selon les activités de navigation de chaque zone. Certaines bouées dans la baie de Mahone ainsi que dans le bassin de Bedford sont relevées à partir du 15 novembre de chaque année. Un certain nombre de bouées sont remplacées par des espars d'hiver. (Ces bouées sont indiquées dans la colonne "Remarques" du Livre des feux, des bouées et des signaux de brume.) Des détails sur les changements effectués à une aide fixe ou flottante pour la saison d'hiver sont publiés chaque automne dans un Avis à la navigation par la région des Maritimes et diffusés au moyen de la radio lorsque ces changements surviennent.

Les bouées délimitant le chenal en eau profonde jusqu'au détroit de Canso demeureront en place sauf lorsqu'un avis contraire sera donné au moyen d'un Avis à la navigation.

Certaines bouées d'été sont remplacées par des bouées à espar d'hiver.

Région du Centre et de l'Arctique

Les aides fixes lumineuses et sonores fonctionnent à longueur d'année, sauf les feux portant la mention "Saisonnier" dans la colonne "Remarques" du Livre des feux, des bouées et des signaux de brume. La période d'opération des feux saisonniers est approximativement du 1 eravril au 20 décembre, sauf pour le détroit et la baie d'Hudson dont l'opération des feux est majoritairement du 1 erjuin au 1erdécembre.

Tous les autres feux qui relèvent de la Garde côtière canadienne sont en service lorsque la navigation est ouverte dans la région.

Certaines aides fixes (alignements modernisés aux DEL entre Beauharnois et la Traverse Nord) sont dotées d'une fonction de secours provenant du feu principal. Pour identifier quels feux sont munis d'un mode de secours, il faut se référer à la colonne "Remarques" du Livre des feux, des bouées et des signaux de brume. Ainsi les alignements dont la caractéristique en mode principal est fixe Fmontreront une caractéristique de feu isophase; ISO 1 sec. (lum. 0.5s, obs. 0.5.s), dont la portée est réduite en mode de secours.

Bon nombre d'aides fixes conventionnelles dont le feu principal reste allumer en permanence sont dotés de feux de secours qui s'allument automatiquement la nuit si le feu principal est en panne. Ces feux de secours dont l'opération est temporaire ont une caractéristique et une portée différentes du feu principal. Les informations complètes concernant ce type de feu sont disponibles dans le Livre des feux, des bouées et des signaux de brume.

De plus, certains alignements dans les chenaux restreints sont dotés d'un feu secondaire. Il s'agit d'un troisième feu qui n'est ni le feu principal visible sur l'alignement ni le feu de secours. Les caractéristiques de ce feu sont différentes du feu principal ou du feu de secours. Ce feu secondaire (de référence ou de positionnement) est souvent visible sur 360° ou pour un secteur donné. Les informations complètes concernant ce feu sont disponibles dans le Livre des feux, des bouées et des signaux de brume.

Certaines aides flottantes sont remplacées en permanence par de nouvelles bouées espars lumineuses annuelles en plastique ou en acier mouillées pour une période de 2 ans et laissées en place à longueur d'année. Vous pouvez obtenir des informations sur les caractéristiques de ces bouées en consultant le Livre des feux, des bouées et des signaux de brume.

Les détails relatifs aux changements apportés aux aides à la navigation sont annoncés par le biais d'Avis à la navigation radiodiffusés et par des Avis écrits disponibles sur « le site Internet de la Garde Côtière Canadienne, région du Centre et de l’Arctique à  http://www.marinfo.gc.ca».

En général, les bouées sont en service au printemps (ou pendant l'été en Arctique) dès que l'état des glaces le permet et sont enlevées à l'automne en prévision de la saison hivernale.

Pour la saison d'hiver, plusieurs bouées lumineuses sont remplacées par des bouées espar. Les navigateurs sont priés de communiquer avec le centre SCTM approprié ou de consulter « le site Internet de la Garde Côtière Canadienne, région du Centre et de l’Arctique à  http://www.marinfo.gc.ca» pour obtenir des mises à jour sur les activités de balisage saisonnier et les rapports complet d'état du balisage dans leur secteur.

La mise en service d'aides saisonnières peut être retardée si la température et/ou l'état des glaces empêchent les opérations des baliseurs. Les navigateurs sont priés instamment de prendre toutes les précautions utiles et de ne pas se fier exclusivement sur les aides à la navigation.

Nota :Certaines bouées demeurent à l'eau sans être entretenues durant la saison hivernale tandis que d'autres sont retirées. Les navigateurs utilisant les chenaux balisés avant l'ouverture officielle de la saison de navigation, sont prévenus que les bouées peuvent être déplacées et /ou montrer des caractéristiques autres que celles annoncées. Une fois les positions vérifiées et l'entretien des bouées effectué, un Avis à la navigation est diffusé pour confirmer l'état opérationnel et la position des bouées. Ces avis peuvent être diffusés sur le réseau VHF radio maritime de la Garde côtière canadienne et peuvent être disponibles sur « le site Internet de la Garde Côtière Canadienne, région du Centre et de l’Arctique à http://www.marinfo.gc.ca».

Région de l'Ouest

Les feux et des bouées le long de la côte du Pacifique sont en service à longueur d'année. Les détails relatifs aux changements apportés aux aides fixes et flottantes sont publiés dans un Avis à la navigation de la région et radiodiffusés au moment des changements.

Au printemps, les positions des aides flottantes ne sont pas fiables dû à l'état de crue qui existe dans le fleuve Fraser. Les bouées ainsi déplacées dans le fleuve Fraser peuvent être temporairement enlevées, dans ce cas les navigateurs en seront prévenus au moyen d'un Avis à la navigation.

La mise en service et la mise hors service des aides à la navigation dans le réseau Mackenzie, sont déterminés par l'état des glaces. Les navigateurs sont prévenus que les aides flottantes sont susceptibles d'être déplacées par les glaces, et dépendant de l'état de la mer et des glaces, elles seront mises hors service et/ou abandonnées à la fermeture de la navigation.

La mise en service d'aides saisonnières peut être retardée si la température et/ou l'état des glaces empêchent les opérations des baliseurs. Les navigateurs sont priés instamment de prendre toutes les précautions utiles et de ne pas se fier exclusivement sur les aides à la navigation.

Nota:La plupart des bouées sont enlevées à la fin de la saison de navigation par contre un petit pourcentage sont laissées en place durant l'hiver. Les navigateurs utilisant les chenaux balisés par ces bouées avant l'ouverture officielle de la saison de navigation, sont prévenus que ces bouées peuvent ne pas être à leur position annoncée à cause des tempêtes et mouvements des glaces pendant l'hiver. Suite à la vérification de la position et l'état de l'aide, un Avis à la navigation sera diffusé pour informer les navigateurs que les aides ont été vérifiées et que les chenaux dans chaque secteur sont ouverts à la navigation. Ces Avis peuvent être diffusés par les centres SCTM de la Garde côtière canadienne ou dans l'édition mensuelle des Avis aux navigateurs.

Autorité: Garde côtière canadienne